Mon. Dec 9th, 2019

Winners of Earth day contests awarded

The Earth Day Committee awarded the winners of the drawing and essay contests on May 4 at the Koror State Assembly Hall.

Six students who bested 400 others in the Drawing contest were Jeter Paulis of the Airai Elementary School for the 1st grade category, Jake Yarofral of the Maris Stella School for the 2nd grade, Luis W. Remoket of Ngeremlengui Elementary School of the 3rd grade, Shantel Kaainoa, still of Ngeremlengui Elementary School, for the 4th grade, Shanna Rou Kadiasang of the Angaur Elementary School for the 5th grade, and Kallion Jenkins of the Ibobang Elementary School of the 6th grade.

For the Elementary Division of the Essay contest, eight-grader Mairee Uchelel Eriich of the SDA Elementary topped the competition followed by eight-grader Caley Adolf of the George B. Harris School and seventh-grader O’mara Dewil Wilburn of the Melekeok Elementary School.

The High School Division Essay contest was also topped by Caitlin Joshua of the Emmaus Bethania High School followed by D’Jud M. Tamtreng of the Palau High School and Augusta Ilemelong of the Belau Modekngei School. (Rhealyn C. Pojas/Reporter)