Tue. Jan 28th, 2020

Southern states install new gov’ts on New Year’s Day

States of Peleliu and Angaur held installation ceremonies of their new governments on New Year’s Day, January 1, 2019 as mandated by each State constitution.

Angaur State 19th government installation was officiated by Justice Oldiais Ngiraikelau at the Palau Supreme Court Building Rm. 101 in Koror. New Governor Kennosuke Suzuky and five new legislators took oaths of Office witnessed by family members and constituents in Koror.

According to sources, Angaur newly sworn-in legislators Leon Gulibert, Audry Rafael, Arnold Asao, William Moses and Gene Larson are slated to organize on Saturday, January 5th.

Peleliu State 13th government was inaugurated on the same day, New Year’s day, January 1st in Peleliu State. Governor Temmy Shmull and nine legislators were sworn in by Chief Justice Arthur Ngirakelsong.

The newly elected Peleliu legislature organized itself on the same day.  Legislator Eufrasia Ngitchob Remeliik was re-elected Speaker, whilst Andreas Napoleon became Vice Speaker and Renguul Donald Haruo became the new Floor Leader.

Legislator representing Ngesias hamlet was not sworn in.  The two candidates, Johanes Tsuneo and Joel Okada both received same number of votes and a run-off election between the two will take place on Monday January 7, 2019. (L.N. Reklai)